Indian Hill Junior Open Recap

November 22, 2022
Winnetka, IL

The first tournament of Chicago's CPTC Road to Junior Nationals is in the books. We want to thank the Indian Hill Club for their generosity as the host site. Tournament Director, Matt Warner, ran a flawless operation juggling 39 teams in six round-robin draws. He had help from local pros Stephanie Foster and Nate Helmkamp, who ran drills on open courts and kept the flow of the day moving.

The sunny but chilly day started with the Boys & Girls U10 & U12 divisions playing from 12-3 pm. It finished with the Boys & Girls U15 & U18 divisions playing from 3-6 pm. Fire pits were roaring, music was pumping, and the pizza was getting crushed (16 larges!)

The Road to Junior Nationals is a three-tournament series. Players will be awarded points based on their finish aligned with the current national ranking system. At the end of the three tournaments in each division, the top point earners will be able to represent Chicago at the Junior Nationals, held in New Jersey on March 4, 2023. The CPTC will offer these teams a travel stipend to help lower the costs. These events would only be able to run with the financial support of the CPTC's 6,000+ members. Here is a link to the rankings page

The next tournament will take place on January 15. Keep an eye out for details regarding the host site and tournament directors. A signup sheet will be live on the APTA site soon.


U10 Girls
Winners: Tessa Holbrook and Addy Elsasser

U10 Boys
Winners: Henry Farr and Billy Salemi
Finalists: Graham Fox and Cole Veit

U12 Girls
Winners: Elin Koltun and Eloise Donnelly
Finalists: Eilise Badawi and Reese Rose

U12 Boys
Winners: Daniel Ciaglo and Myles Jenkins
Finalists: Isaac Burk and George Lambropoulos

U15 Boys
Winners: Ben Gold and Myles Jenkins
Finalists: George Cirulis and Theodore Sanderson

U18 Girls
Winners: Anna McAlpine and Kate Jewell
Finalists: Ellie Kalil-Felbinger and Elizabeth Lipsey

U18 Boys
Winners: Akshay Garapati and Kiran Garapati
Finalists: Colin Bruso and Chris Cortopassi



Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association