2022-2023 APTA Grand Prix Series

Official Sponsor of the APTA
Viking Athletics      
APTA Grand Prix Series

2022-2023 Grand Prix Series Tournaments Date Region/Location
Chicago Charities - Grand Prix November 4-6, 2022 Region V - Chicago, IL
Detroit - Grand Prix
December 10-11, 2022 Region V - Detroit, MI
Boston Open - Grand Prix
January 28-29, 2023 Region II - Boston, MA
Short Hills - Grand Prix
February 11-12, 2023 Region I - Short Hills, NJ

2022-2023 Grand Prix Series Q & A

What is the Grand Prix Series? Starting in 2021, there are four tournaments designated with Grand Prix status, part of the APTA Tour.

What is special about the Grand Prix Series? They have draws filled with top-level players competing for APTA Cup points, National Ranking points, and significant prize money. They are weighted at 4.25, so points earned at Grand Prix events are higher than other tournaments except Nationals. Grand Prix events are live streamed on the APTA YouTube channel so fans can watch the electric action.

Which events are designated as Grand Prix? Please check The APTA Tour for this season's events.

Are these designations permanent? No. At the end each season we re-evaluate. Some events will change, and some will not.

Are there any prizes for teams that do well in the Grand Prix Series? Starting in the 2021-2022 season, points won in the Grand Prix events count toward The APTA Cup.

Who can play in the Grand Prix events? Everyone can put their name in for a Grand Prix, but registered teams are awarded spots based on their ranking points. The number of teams allowed in is based on each event’s capacity. The Grand Prix tournaments offer at least three matches for all teams and hold multiple back draws.

Grand Prix Series history: The Grand Prix Series was created in 2015, consisting of five events open to the first teams (usually 32-64) that registered. These events were live streamed and showcased many of the top players in the country. In the 2020-2021 season, due to the pandemic, the APTA designated eight GPs around the country, with smaller draws and registration based on ranking points.

Grand Prix Series awards history: From 2015-2020, the Blanchard Cup and Childress Cup went to the men’s team and the women’s team (respectively) with the most Grand Prix points. No cups were awarded in 2020-2021 season, due to the pandemic and changing travel and playing restrictions throughout the country.

Looking for past Grand Prix results? Check out the archived Grand Prix results.

Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association