Results from APTA Men's 50+/60+/70+ Nationals

March 25, 2019
Franklin Lakes, NJ

National Champions were crowned in the Men’s 50+, 60+, and 70+ divisions over the weekend of March 22.

2019 APTA Nationals Mens 50sMen’s 50+:

Unsurprisingly, seven-time defending champions Ron Erskine and Mike Gillespie were the top seeds in the Men’s 50+ tournament. They were unable to win an eighth consecutive title, however, losing in the finals to the second seeds, Jerry Albrikes and Jon Lubow, 6-4, 7-6.

Men’s 50+ Results:
Main Draw: John Lubow/Jerry Albrikes def Mike Gillespie/Ron Erskine, 7-5, 7-6
Quarterfinal Reprieve: David Acselrod/Matt Arciero def. Adrian Buckley/John Shehadi, 6-4, 6-4
Consolation:Ed Aversa/Lee Fassler def. Scott Pecor/Dave Pelisek, 6-2, 3-6, 6-1
Consolation Reprieve: Rob Schenone/Michael Poss def. Don Cavanaugh/Tim Roullaird, 6-4,6-4
Last Chance: Dave Rubin/Paul Wishnoff def. Timothy Evnin/Chris Gilroy, 6-3, 6-4

2019 APTA Nationals Men's 60s

Men’s 60+:

2015, 2016, and 2018 Men’s 60+ National Champion Ivan Harlow teamed with 2017 champion Jim Kauman to win the title this year. In the finals, the top seeds took out Eric Fromm and Robert Krauss, 6-2, 6-2

Men’s 60+ Results:
Main Draw:  Ivan Harlow/Jim Kaufman def. Eric Fromm/Robert Krauss, 6-2, 6-2
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Jeffrey Lynch/Keith Komline def. Rick Sahlman/Bruce Humphreys 
Consolation: Dave Pelisek/Scott Pecor def. Tom Potter/Tony Ettinger, 7-6, 6-2
Consolation Reprieve: Ted Stellmann/Bob Clayton def. Paul Deluca/Todd Tripucka, 7-5, 6-3
Last Chance: Ken Brown/Jon Sager def. Arthur Draznin/Robert Finkelstein

2019 APTA Nationals Men's 70s

Men’s 70+:

The Men’s 70+ final featured the same two teams that faced off in the 2017 and 2018 final but with different results. After losing to Douglas Barrow and Mike O’Donnell the past two years, Scott Estes, Sr. and Steve Griggs got the win in a very competitive final, 7-5, 5-7, 6-4. Estes, Sr. and Griggs also won the tournament in 2016.

Men’s 70+ Results:
Main Draw: Scott Estes, Steve Griggs def. Douglas Barrow/Mike O’Donnell, 7-5,5-7,6-4
Consolation: Gary Klein/Jamey Burns def. Clay Bassett/Phil Rockwell 6-3,6-1
Consolation Reprieve:Richard Reuter/Joe Rogers def. Dana Thomas/Dick Davis, 6-4,4-6,6-3


Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association