Shore/Lehigh Take Colorado Women's State- Kofol/Slutzky Are Men's Champs!

December 1-3, 2017
Denver, CO
By Cary Hodges

2017 Colorado B ChampsAs a reflection of paddle's continued growth in the Denver area, this year's Colorado State Open was the biggest on record with 138 players competing in A and B brackets.  The weekend began with the men's portion of the event with fifteen teams in the A bracket and 23 in the B. Kofol and Slutzky, both Denver-area residents, did not drop a set in the event with a 6-4, 6-2 win over Jesse Carl and new Meadowcreek professional Brock Borman in the finals. The B final also saw a dominant duo of James Cryan and Will Martin who defeated Mike Donnelly and Tom Filippini 6-0, 6-3 in the finals.

On the women's side, the top two seeds, Wendy Bermingham/Kathleen Parker and Anne Lehigh/Sarah Shore both cruised through the bracket on the way to the finals without either team dropping a set. Lehigh/Shore's aggressive play proved to be too much down the stretch for Bermingham and Parker who succumbed gracefully 6-3, 6-3. The women's B bracket was won by Caroline Hansen and Cady Sheldon who defeated Lynn Kelly and Anne Kokish, 7-6, 6-3.

Thanks to for supporting our event.

Men’s A Results:
Main Draw: Kofol/Slutzky def. Borman/Carl, 6-4, 6-2
¾ Playoff: Hintz/Hodges def. Croney/Sherry, 6-3, 6-3
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Green/Kranich def. Burke/Hertzberg, 6-1, 7-5
Consolation: Sheldon/Washburne def. Groth/Kakel, 6-2, 3-6, 6-1
Consolation Reprieve: Ripley/Emerson def. Harbaugh/Hereford, 6-4, 6-1

Women’s A Results:
Main Draw: Lehigh/Shore def. Bermingham/Parker, 6-3, 6-3
¾ playoff: Berra/Dowd def. Givan/Goffinet, 6-2, 6-1
Quarterfinal Reprieve: Koo/Rentz vs. Howell/Waxter
Consolation Round Robin won by Berman/Brandon

2017 Colorado Women Finalists

Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association