Barb Bettigole and Hilary Meyers Outstanding at Oden Cox Women’s B

October 17, 2019
Stonington, CT

By Ann Harvey

In her usual style, Leslie Haskins ran the Stonington Community Center’s first paddle tournament of the 2019-2020 season perfectly. It was a great day of paddle competition, well organized, and expertly executed. The weather was perfect with no wind, slightly overcast skies, and mild temperatures.

Last year, Hilary Meyers won the tournament with Trish Bloom. She pulled it off again this year with Barb Bettigole. Those who have been playing tournaments for some years were delighted to see the return of Barb Bettigole to competitive play.

Thank you to all the ladies who participated, supported Leslie’s recycling efforts, and traveled from Maine, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Massachusetts. We are very grateful to Beth-Ann Stewart, Director of the COMO, Winnie Edmed, Athletic Director of the COMO, and pro Jerry Albrikes, for providing and promoting paddle tennis in our community. The biggest thanks goes to Tournament Director Leslie Haskins who makes it all happen and provides great food, fun, and camaraderie.

The players all appreciate Tournament Director Leslie Haskins enthusiasm and environmental consciousness. One player wrote: “We want to applaud her for the steps she took to avoid single-use plastic water bottles and throw-away plates and utensils. She even brought a box to collect compost from fruit food waste. She simply added a note in her email with start times that players should bring their own water bottles which could be refilled from a large capacity water cooler. Everybody got the message. It worked!”

The annual Oden Cox Memorial was established in memory of Oden Cox, a nationally ranked paddle player, by her daughter Deni Catullo of Westerly, RI.

Main Draw: Hilary Meyers/Barb Bettigole def. Julie Kennedy/Holly Stowe
Quarter Reprieve: Beth Albrikes/Ann Harvey def. Margret Greene/Suzanne Jonker
Consolation: Marian Cunningham/Sue Lombardi


2019-oden cox winners-526

Main Draw Finalist: L to R Finalists Julie Kennedy/Holly Stowe, Leslie Haskins, Winners Hilary Meyers/Barb Bettigole

2019-oden cox winners-526

Consolation winners- L to R Marian Cunningham/Sue Lombardi

2019-oden cox winners-526

Quarter Reprieve- Winners, Ann Harvey/Beth Albrikes Finalists, Suzanne Jonker/Margret Greene

2019-Quarter Reprieve

Consolation Reprieve L to R Winners Nuffy Murphy/ML James finalist Jackie Mackool/Emily Demello
Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association