APTA Realigns Regions

APTA Realigns RegionsAUGUST 6, 2011

During the 2010-2011 season, the APTA Board of Directors took a close look at the APTA’s regional boundaries. With New York divided among three regions and Connecticut divided between two, there has been confusion in these states about who belongs where. In addition, the growth of platform tennis in the south prompted a closer look at how other states were aligned.

What are Regions?

Regions are geographic areas. President’s Cup players are interested in regions because they are the basis for P-Cup teams. But as platform tennis grows and regional presidents invest time and effort to promote the sport, regions are becoming focal points for getting players of all levels invested in the larger platform tennis world.

From regional facebook pages to inter-league competitions to clinics & exhibitions, regions are a great vehicle for communicating with fellow players, spreading enthusiasm in the sport, and introducing new, fun events.

You can find out more about your region through your Regional news and information page:
Region I   Region II   Region III   Region IV   Region V    Region VI   Region VII

What are the changes?

There are significant changes made to Regions 1 and 2. Region 2 will now consist of only the New England states - Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. Region 1 no longer includes Fairfield County, CT but it does include some New York counties that were once Region 2. New York is now only divided between Region 1 and Region 4.

Other changes were made in the south and Midwest to align states with regions that would best fit their climate and geographic profiles. When platform tennis develops in these states, they will have the support of the most appropriate regions. Region 6 does not change.

New Regional Boundaries

Region 1

Region 1 will consist of New Jersey and the southern and eastern portions of New York State as delineated by all counties south and east of the western boundaries of Albany County, Greene County, Orange County, Saratoga County, Schenectady County, Ulster County and Warren County.

Region 2

Region 2 will consist of Connecticut (including Fairfield County), Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont and the Canadian Province of Quebec plus all provinces to the east and northeast of Quebec.

Region 3

Region 3 will consist of Delaware, Maryland, Washington DC, Eastern Pennsylvania as delineated by the western boundaries of Centre County, Clinton County, Fulton County, Huntingdon County and Potter County and Northern Virginia as delineated by the southern boundaries of Fauquier County, Frederick County, King George County, Rappahannock County, Stafford County and Warren County.

Region 4

Region 4 will consist of Western and Northern New York State as delineated by the eastern boundaries of Delaware County, Essex County, Fulton County, Hamilton County, Montgomery County, Schoharie County and Sullivan County plus Western Pennsylvania as delineated by the eastern boundaries of Bedford County, Blair County, Cameron County, Clearfield County and McKean County plus Kentucky, West Virginia and the Canadian Province of Ontario.

Region 5

Region 5 will consist of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Region 6

Region 6 will consist of Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Region 7

Region 7 will consist of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Southern Virginia as delineated by the northern boundaries of Caroline County, Culpeper County, Essex County, Madison County, Page County, Shenandoah County, Spotsylvania County and Westmoreland County.

Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association