Habitat for Humanity Benefit in PA

October 31, 2022
West Chester, PA

32 Teams compete and raise funds

For the third year in a row Unionville High School (UHS) Habitat for Humanity campus chapter club and UHS paddle club organized a paddle fundraiser tournament. All proceeds for the event went to Habitat for Humanity of Chester County and this year the event raised over $5,000! We had a great turnout with 16 men's teams who competed at Radley Run and 16 women's teams who played at Concord Country Club. Radley Run Country Club provided the box lunches and we greatly appreciated RRCC partnering with us on this fundraiser. We would like to give special thanks to Dave Taylor and Laurie Hissey for volunteering their day to run the brackets. We would also like to recognize our platinum sponsor, MAPTA, and our silver sponsor, Rick Kennedy.

The men’s and women’s finals were held in the afternoon at Radley Run Country Club. Ayae Herman and Barb Miles of Martin’s Dam beat Radley Run’s Dina Raihall and Susan Stipa in an excellent final. In the men's finals, Lonnie Cooper (Radley) and Doug Mainwaring (Kennett) defeated Radley’s own Evan Niemkiewicz and Doug Raihall. During the finals, the paddle participants enjoyed complimentary home brew from Tom Simpson and wine from Sarah Dinsel (a wine consultant for Scout and Cellar) as they cheered on the Phillies! We would also like to thank the Habitat for Humanity staff members Jason Pryrah, Director of Operations, and Stacey Bagent, Director of ReStore Operations, who came out to talk about the organization. Overall it was a magnificent sunny day where players thought they were playing paddle, but in fact, they were building houses. Thank you all and spread the word—we would love to see more of you next fall!

2022-Habitat men's winners-600

Men's- L to R: Winners Doug Mainwaring/Lonnie Cooper, HFH's Jason Pryrah, Finalists Evan Niemkiewicz/Doug Raihall

2022-Habitat women's-600

Women's - L to R: Finalists Dina Raihall/Susan Stipa, HFH's Jason Pryrah, Winners Barb Miles/ Ayae Herman

Copyright © 2010 - 2022 American Platform Tennis Association